2019 Ghana Football Awards nominees unveiled

Share This Post

Thomas Teye Partey will be hoping to retain his crown as best player after being nominated for the 2019 Ghana Football Awards footballer of the year award.

Partey, who won the top award at the maiden edition last year, has been nominated alongside Black Maidens striker Mukarama Abdulai and Asante Kotoko goalkeeper Felix Annan.

The full lists of nominees were unveiled on Friday, May 31, 2019, at the Samsung Premium Rooftop in Circle, Accra.

Felix Annan and Mukarama Abdulai earned the most nominations on the night with three each while Thomas Partey followed in second with two nominations.

The home-based player of the year category features two Asante Kotoko players Felix Annan and Fatawu Safiu alongside Mohammed Alhassan of Hearts of Oak.

For the foreign-based player, Thomas Partey has been nominated alongside Inter Milan star Kwadwo Asamoah and Joseph Aidoo of KRC Genk

Asante Kotoko coach Charles Kwablan Akonnor will go head to head with Karela United’s Johnson Smith and Augustine Adotey of Black Maidens for coach of the year award.

Mukarama Abdulai is tipped as favourite to win women’s footballer of the year award as she comes up against Black Queens duo Janet Egyir and Grace Asantewaa.

The awards will be staged on 22nd July 2019 at the Marriott Hotel in Accra.

Below is the full list of the nominations

Goalkeeper of the Year

Felix Annan – Asante Kotoko

Nana Bonsu – Enugu Rangers

Richard Ofori – Maritzburg United

Coach of the Year

Johnson Smith – Karela United

Charles Akonnor – Asante Kotoko

Augustine Adotey – Black Maidens

Home-based Footballer of the Year

Felix Annan – Asante Kotoko Abdul

Fatawu Shafiu- Asante Kotoko

Mohammed Alhassan- Hearts of Oak

Foreign-based Player of the Year

Thomas Partey- Atletico Madrid

Kwadwo Asamoah- Inter Milan

Joseph Aidoo – KRC Genk

Rising Star of the Year 

Diawisie Taylor – Karela United

Grace Animah – Black Maidens

Mukurama Abdulai- Black Maidens

Women’s Footballer of the Year

Grace Asantewaa – Black Queens

Janet Egyir – Black Queens

Abdulai Mukurama – Black Maidens

Footballer of the Year

Thomas Partey – Atletico Madrid

Abdulai Mukurama – Black Maidens

Felix Annan – Asante Kotoko

Related posts

Leave a Comment